Saying Goodbye

While this may not be my typical post, I recently lost the man that was always the biggest supporter of my photography, even if he didn’t quite understand my passion for abandoned buildings and decay, and it would be wrong to not take a minute to talk about him.

SCAN0020

From day one, I have been my grandpa’s girl.  Even though we don’t have many pictures together Grandpa, I treasure all the images we do have and I will continue to think of you every time I pick up my camera.  As a kid, you let me help build your fence, wear your hat and “smoke” your cigars, you taught me to fish and how to swing across the monkey bars, and you never got tired of the hours I wanted to spend building domino towers (just to knock them all over) and playing Chinese checkers.

SCAN0035

When you started picking me up after school, you would always bring my favorite snacks and if you didn’t have anything that day, we always stopped at the nearest gas station to pick something up.  Even though it was complicated, you always tried to help me with my math homework, even though it usually resulted in us both being so confused it was hopeless.  You helped me build a mousetrap for school that didn’t hurt the mice, just because I couldn’t stand the thought of them dying and you made sure that every other complicated project I came up with managed to be created, no matter how long it took.  When it came to me, there were no limits to your patience and support.

SCAN0049

As time went on, you continued to be the father figure that I needed and you supported me through every phase of my life. From my first pocket camera to my current Canon 6D, you were the biggest supporter of my photography and always made sure I had the tools to continue growing and learning in my passion.   And when I was hospitalized for my depression, you never made me feel like I had anything to be ashamed of.  In fact, you encouraged me to find comfort and relief in my photography and that is exactly what I did.

SCAN0076

There is no one in this world that is quite like you grandpa and I honestly do not know who I would be today without all the love and support you gave me.  Saying goodbye is the hardest thing I have ever had to do and it’s so incredibly hard to accept that you will no longer be here with your amazing hugs and enormous heart.

041

I will never forget your love and all the things you’ve taught me about being a good person with a heart full of dedication, drive, and passion for the life I have been given. You will always be in my heart and I will spend forever striving to be a person you would continue to be proud of. With love forever, your little stinker ♡

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye

  1. infraredrobert May 28, 2017 / 4:50 PM

    Sorry for your loss – and your memories are the reality of immortality.

    Like

  2. Megs January 15, 2018 / 3:02 PM

    What a beautiful post. Thank you so much for sharing. Besides having a talent for photographing the beauty of the old homes, you are also a lovely writer and really captured the importance of human relationships with your words.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura April 29, 2020 / 11:47 AM

    Your work is impecable, and your grace and sensativity are reflected in the way you capture images. I cried when I read your beautiful dedication to your grandfather. How proud he must be while he still watches over you.

    Good luck to you. You are very talented.

    Like

Leave a comment